the lightning thief

Riordan, Rick. The Lightning Thief. NY: Miramax Books/Hyperion Books for Children, 2005.

narrator: first-person, Percy Jackson

This is Book 1 of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Riordan’s first book for the YA genre. I’ve just started this. My fourteen-year-old son came into my bedroom and I told him a bit about the book. He said, “I might read that.” High praise from a dedicated insouciant reader. I love Riordan’s peculiar hook into the world of classical mythology. Looking forward to seeing how he spins it out.

I love the chapter titles! Each one is a great writing prompt. “I Accidentally Vaporize My Pre-algebra Teacher,” “We Visit the Garden Gnome Emporium,” and “A God Buys Us Cheeseburgers,” are just a few.

It’s Sunday night, almost 10pm on 9 July. I finished The Lightning Thief this afternoon, and although I started to flag mid-book, the end picks up. Character relationships start to coalesce; they don’t seem to be that developed at start of book. Mystery and action suspense increases with advancement of plot. So I ended up liking it. Not sure I like it enough to read the next book in the series. Can’t remember if Kim said this was one of those books that the boys love to read. I would be curious to see how someone would use this novel in a unit on Greek mythology. Not sure how this book would relate to other subjects. So I’m eager to hear from others.

One Response to the lightning thief

  1. Becky Riordan says:

    Hi Sandra,
    Thank you for reading Lightning Thief! Rick wrote a teacher’s guide and rationale for LT which you may find helpful:
    http://www.rickriordan.com/Teacher_Guide_to_Percy.htm
    We have been delighted that many teachers and students report that the book was
    used successfully in their classrooms last year.
    Becky

Leave a Reply

