So B. It

Weeks, Sarah. So B. It. NY: HarperCollins, 2004.

narrator: first-person, Heidi

Wow. Some gorgeous language: “I cried so hard, it felt like my ribs might crack open. I imagined my heart flying out like a small, red bird escaping its cage, going off in search of a more promising person to live in” (63); or, “Bernie taught me everything I knew, and she was a very good teacher. When she explained things, they shot into my brain like arrows and stuck,” (9). Can’t put this one down. There’s a mystery around a word — one that Heidi’s mom says: “Soof.” And Heidi becomes obsessed. Her mom’s mentally challenged and she appeared at Bernadette’s apartment door in Las Vegas with Heidi in her arms; Heidi was a week-and-a-half old. Heidi’s mom has a vocabulary of twenty-three words and says her name is “So Be It,” so Bernadette spells it out like a real name: So B. It. Bernadette is agoraphobic, ever since her father died suddenly. This is quirky, some beautiful writing, and I also want to know what “soof” means almost as much as Heidi does.

It’s 13 July and I’ve finished the book. Still love the language. Every character is flawed and heroic. I like the ending.

Leave a Reply

