the restless and the discontented

Today is one of those days — perfect weather and I am just not feelin’ it. Ya know, I love ideas and talking about ideas. I love writing and literature. And I love learning, teaching. The university is a good place to be if one has all those particular loves. But today I’m too aware of the order and hierarchy of the institution, the commodification of expertise, the elitism of certain kinds of knowledge. I think I just haven’t been out of the country in too long and I need a voyage. I’m out of sorts. Nothing that a sojourn to New Zealand couldn’t cure.

Leave a Reply

